top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureRyan Cuscaden

Overcoming Problems

The last two weeks I've been rigging the characters in our short using advanced skeleton, and everything was going great unit I got to the hair of the little girl character and the Granny character. With the little girl, her dress was made too thin so the back of the dress started to show through the front when she would bend or move her legs. I tried to solve this by deleting the back faces, but it destroyed how the rig was working so I just spent some extra time weight painting the backside so it doesn't clip through the front. Looking back at it if I rebuilt the advanced skeleton when I deleted the faces, it should have worked because I had a similar problem but with the Granny's head, but I got it to work so I was happy. The second problem I had with the little girl was her pigtails not having enough geometry to deform, so I just had to add more edge loops and it seems to work correctly now. When it came to the Granny character, I had no problems at all until I got to the face rig, none of the deforming joints were deforming anything at all. The only reason I could come to on why it was doing that was that the mouth was pushed so far back into her head it didn't know how to deform the face. I ended up taking the face into ZBrush and taking the corners of the mouth and pulling it forward to make her have a more natural face shape and it ended up working so that made me super happy. With those two done, I start working on the costume changes for the main character. Since I already rigged him I'm able to just add the new pieces to the rig so all I have to do for each is weight paint them and then they'll be done. After I get the costumes done all I'll have left to rig is the background characters and then all of the characters will be rigged! As the only person rigging in the team, it is hard some times because I don't really have anyone else to help me all that much due to us being a small team and everyone has their things to get done so we are all busy, but we're getting done so that's good. Even though we have a lot of work, we are all having a lot of fun with this project and can't wait for people to see our finished short.


8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Rig Rig Rig

We've gotten to the part of the project where the group is waiting on rigs, and as the only rigger in the group I've got my work cut out for me. I'm getting a lot done and am doing great on the rigs a

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page