top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureRyan Cuscaden

Now We Wait and Hope Things Don't Break

These last three semesters have been a wild ride of ups and downs, but an enjoyable ride all the same. I didn't get to sculpt as much as I wanted this project and ended up doing a lot more rigging than I was expecting, but it gave me the chance to learn more about rigging and the problems that come with rigs that are done wrong. I also learned that I'm not a huge fan of rigging (at least not every day), but I do now have the knowledge to rig a character if needed.

I did come across a very strange bug while rigging the background characters these past few weeks. While rigging Karin, after all the rigging was complete I tried to move her over to the server and she showed up with no arms. I tried everything to fix it; hiding it then unhiding it, re apply textures, import new arms, reconnect everything, and nothing worked! Her arms still decided to not show up! I contacted my teacher Brett and he gave me some things to try like publishing the rig in advanced skeleton, or going into the code to find why it's not showing up. I tried these things and nothing worked still. So to fix this problem I ended up redoing the rig from scratch all on the server this time and it worked! I still have no idea why it didn't work but at least we can still use Karin.

We also got a music student to work on our music and sound effects and they are turning out great! I can't wait for everybody to see the amazing work my group and myself have put into this short. It'll all be done in two weeks so see you then!!!!!


7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Rig Rig Rig

We've gotten to the part of the project where the group is waiting on rigs, and as the only rigger in the group I've got my work cut out for me. I'm getting a lot done and am doing great on the rigs a

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page